Mumbai Day 6: Meeting with Vivek to discuss future research and collaborations

My flight to Kuala Lumpur was at 11.55pm (arriving at 7.30am) so I spent much of my last day in India getting ready, answering emails, making blog entries, and then in the afternoon, discussing with Vivek how to progress the research further in India and what plans we might have for publications, a conference, and institutional partnerships and collaboration. We decided on at least three specific journal articles based on the Indian context, a conference on manners, etiquette and traditional behaviours, and a book that will contextualise spitting around the world. We will continue to research paan and other spitting in India in a more in depth fashion and to explore differences in spitting practices and attitudes towards it, regionally. We are also aiming to bring the universities of Mumbai and Plymouth into closer collaboration in a variety of ways.

I have been a little anxious about researching spitting in Kuala Lumpur/Malaysia as my survey and other bits of information I have gleaned of late have suggested it is pretty much absent and that Malaysia is not tolerant of it similar to Singapore where it has been largely eradicated. Given that Jakarta/Indonesia is a well known betel eating and spitting location I suspect that I should have spent more than the two days I will have exploring there following my (effectively) two days in Kuala Lumpur.

Leave a Reply

